How to deactivate Facebook account

This post is about how to temporally deactivate your Facebook Account. 

If you are in hurry, you can use this direct link which will take you to Facebook deactivation page and then follow the instructions you will be given:

https://www.facebook.com/deactivate.php

Otherwise, use these steps to deactivate your account:

Step 1:
Log into Facebook.
In the upper right corner on your home page, click the “Engine” icon. Then click “Account Settings.” On the left side of screen, click “Security.” Scroll down the page and click “Deactivate account”.

Step 2:
You will be taken to the page that will ask, “Are you sure you want to deactivate your account?” You will see a group of your friends appear in very large photos, enticing you to remain.
Confirm that you are sure by clicking the appropriate button.

Step 3:
Check the box to describe why you are deactivating

Step 4:
Check the box for “Email opt out.” Doing this lets you opt out of receiving future emails from Facebook. If you don’t select this, your friends can still invite you to events, tag you in photos or ask you to join groups. Opting out prevents them from sending emails and notifications anymore.

Step 5:
Press the “deactivate” button. Your account will now be “hidden” from other viewers on Facebook. However, you will re-activate your account any time you login again to Facebook.